Skip to Main Content

Critical Thinking: Steps to Critical Thinking

Steps to Critical Thinking

Elesapiens Learning & Fun. (2014, January 29). Education in critical thinking implies [Illustration]. Retrieved from

Critical Thinking can be broken down into 8 different categories to include:

  1. Reflection.
  2. Analysis.
  3. Acquisition of Information.
  4. Creativity.
  5. Structuring arguments.
  6. Decision making.
  7. Commitment.
  8. Debate.

Now, you might be wondering, "how can I benefit from this process?" By examining the 8 Steps of Critical Thinking you can apply these skills towards your coursework and/or past, current, and future employment.

To be able to make a decision based on sound judgment it is important to reflect on the issue at hand, analyze the pros and cons, gather all pertinent information, keep an open and unbiased mind, construct concise and well-structured arguments, practice good decision making, commit to follow through, and debate as to whether you have made the right decision or not.

Cuzzle #1 of 5 (Critical Thinking Puzzle)

A barn has a very steep roof that comes together at the top in a sharp point. If a rooster lays an egg on the very apex of the roof, which side would the egg roll down?