This classic reference is a must-have for writers. In this brief handbook, Strunk identifies the principal requirements of proper American English style and concentrates on the most often violated rules of composition. Authoritative and engagingly written, this is simply the greatest book of its kind.
Writing for publication is a daunting and time-consuming task for many academics. And yet the pressure for academics to publish has never been greater. This book demystifies the process of writing academic papers, showing readers what good papers look like and how they can be written.
Twenty-one chapters give information on all aspects of writing and of preparing copy for publication, whether in print or electronically. New Hart's Rules gives guidance on a broad range of topics including publishing terms, layout and headings, how to treat illustrations, hyphenation, punctuation,and bibliographies and notes.
Throughout the book, the author, Garner, describes standard literary English--the forms that mark writers and speakers as educated users of the language. He also offers historical context for understanding the development of these forms. The section on grammar explains how the canonical parts of speech came to be identified, while the section on syntax covers the nuances of sentence patterns as well as both traditional sentence diagramming and transformational grammar. The usage section provides an unprecedented trove of empirical evidence in the form of Google Ngrams, diagrams that illustrate the changing prevalence of specific terms over decades and even centuries of English literature. Garner also treats punctuation and word formation, and concludes the book with an exhaustive glossary of grammatical terms and a bibliography of suggested further reading and references.
The new edition covers: how to turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article, how to write a letter to the editor and a book review, how to work with and manage contributors when writing a book, and how to understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more.
Managing and Citing Sources
Research management includes three tasks:
Gather and select credible, high quality resources
Organize selected sources to avoid duplication and assist with synthesis, analysis, and writing
Track or record database searches – to avoid duplicating efforts, and to assist with locating additional information
Citation management to avoid unintentional plagiarism, to give credit to the authors of your sources, and to lend credibility to your own work
Choose a citation management tool (NoodleTools or APA Academic Writer are supported by Rasmussen College Librarians) or develop your own approach using the APA Guide for citation information and examples