FIN3247 Investments and Security Markets Course Guide

Course Project: As you gain your bearings during the first week of this course, you will be introduced to the three deliverables that make up the course project. The first deliverable is due module 2. Take the time now to familiarize yourself with the resources contained within this guide, and begin researching the roles of a CFO and Junior Analyst in the Financial Services industry. Use the suggested library readings, videos, and websites provided below to begin your exploration, and then conduct your own research using the databases provided within the Finance Research box below.

Discussion: For this week's discussion you're asked to describe the purpose and mechanics of primary and secondary markets. Use the databases provided in the Finance Research box below to locate information on primary and secondary markets.

Optional Library Readings: 

Helpful Websites:

Course Project: The first deliverable for your course project is due for module 2. Refer to the optional library readings and recommended databases in the Finance Research box below for additional information on securities, asset classes, and traditional versus non-traditional investments. 

Need an APA refresher? Checkout the APA Resources box in the left column to access the APA Guide, APA Tutoring, NoodleTools, and Rasmussen Library Chat.

Pro tip: New to writing professional business reports? Use the business reports FAQ and the professional writing versus academic writing FAQ in the Investments and Security Markets FAQs box below to learn more!

Discussion:

This week's discussion asks you to describe topics you would discuss with an equity firm to convince them to fund your paddle board business. Review the lecture, optional library readings, and conduct your own research using the databases recommended in the Financial Research box to learn more about the key financial items venture capital firms require to invest in a business.

Optional Library Readings:

Helpful Websites:

Major Mutual Fund Companies:

Largest ETF Companies:

Written Assignment: Use the Overview and Module 3 Sample Worksheets to complete the Module 3 Deliverable Worksheet. 

Discussion: Review the optional library readings below and search use suggested databases in the Finance Research box to learn more about structuring a portfolio with stocks and bonds.

Optional Library Readings:

Course Project: Refer to the Investments and Security Markets FAQ box below for more information about writing memos.

Course Project & Discussion: Consider reviewing the optional library readings below and conduct your own research about derivatives using the databases recommended in the Finance Research box below.

Optional Library Readings:

Course Project: Refer to the Investments and Security Markets FAQ box for details about writing a business report. Conduct research using the library databases recommended in the Finance Research box. Additionally, review optional library readings in this module and the previous 4 modules.

Discussion: Consult the optional readings below and the recommended library databases below for exploring technical and fundamental analysis.

Optional Library Readings:

Written Assignment: For this week's written assignment you should create 8-12 security risk FAQs on the topics of: investment risk, strategies to mitigate and avoid risk, making financial and investment recommendations to a client, and ethical approaches Investment Advisors can implement to avoid or minimize investment risk. Don't forget to also include information about Moral Hazard and Adverse Selection as it relates to making investment recommendations for clients. Review the optional library readings below and the recommended library databases to research these topics further. Remember to checkout the APA resources in the left column!

Discussion: Follow the instructions in the module's discussion area. Consider reviewing optional library readings and conducting additional research using the recommended library databases below.

Optional Library Readings:

Helpful Websites:

Or, search nearly all of the business and general education databases using the search box below.

Or, search nearly all of the business and general education databases using the search box below.

Q. Searching? Research? How do I get better results for my topic in a database?

Assignment: "Research leadership strategies for managing organizational change."

1. Determine keywords:

• Research leadership strategies for managing organizational change.

2. Determine synonyms. Sample synonyms include:

3. Develop a search string using AND to combine topics and OR to include synonyms.

4. To narrow results, review initial search results to determine subject terms. Use the subject term to revise or conduct a new search:

Search First Research