It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides specific resource support for CNT 3229 - Asset Management. Resources in this guide include business writing, supplemental subject matter resources, and writing good discussion posts.
Computer and Information Security Handbook by John R. VaccaComputer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437 Written by leaders in the field Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of the latest security technologies, issues, and best practices Presents methods for analysis, along with problem-solving techniques for implementing practical solutions
Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Defensive Security Handbook by Lee Brotherston; Amanda BerlinDespite the increase of high-profile hacks, record-breaking data leaks, and ransomware attacks, many organizations don't have the budget to establish or outsource an information security (InfoSec) program, forcing them to learn on the job. For companies obliged to improvise, this pragmatic guide provides a security-101 handbook with steps, tools, processes, and ideas to help you drive maximum-security improvement at little or no cost. Each chapter in this book provides step-by-step instructions for dealing with a specific issue, including breaches and disasters, compliance, network infrastructure and password management, vulnerability scanning, and penetration testing, among others. Network engineers, system administrators, and security professionals will learn tools and techniques to help improve security in sensible, manageable chunks. Learn fundamentals of starting or redesigning an InfoSec program Create a base set of policies, standards, and procedures Plan and design incident response, disaster recovery, compliance, and physical security Bolster Microsoft and Unix systems, network infrastructure, and password management Use segmentation practices and designs to compartmentalize your network Explore automated process and tools for vulnerability management Securely develop code to reduce exploitable errors Understand basic penetration testing concepts through purple teaming Delve into IDS, IPS, SOC, logging, and monitoring
Publication Date: 2017-04-21
IT Asset Management by Martyn Hobbs; IT Governance Publishing Staff (Editor)Implement Asset Management and reap the rewards IT Asset Management (ITAM) is the set of business practices that join financial, contractual and inventory functions to support life cycle management for elements found in the business environment, namely software and hardware. Build your hardware asset listing first Software is one of the most critical elements of information and communications technologies and most organisations have huge investments in software, whether internally developed or external procured. However, with a major objective of IT Asset Management usually being software licence control, it is essential to first establish a comprehensive hardware asset listing, as software is always installed on a device. Therefore, without knowing the extent of your hardware assets, you cannot be fully aware of what software is installed where, which could cause under-licensing issues. Investment WILL deliver a return Rewards to be gained from effectively implementing Asset Management are many and worthwhile. Although investment in an Asset Management project may not deliver an instant return, as the project starts to mature, opportunities to make savings will become apparent. IT Asset Management: A Pocket Survival Guide is a quick reference style guide, addressing such serious issues with a fresh and pragmatic approach. Aimed at IT professionals who have been tasked with putting in place Asset Management disciplines, it first provides a commonsense introduction to the key processes outlined in the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL(r)), before proceeding to explain the various milestones of an Asset Management project. It will guide the reader through building a hardware asset listing managing software asset inventory effectively, so compliance with software licences is achieved how to get senior management buy-in how to define, enforce and control procedures to manage IT assets more effectively for maximum savings."
Instructors use the discussions to assess where you're at in terms of understanding the material. Show them what you know!
Make additional posts whenever you can. Make sure they are substantive and engaging to others.
Meet the posting deadlines. Check the Calendar to make sure you know when the Initial Post and the Reply posts are due.
Need help juggling all of these due dates? Check out the Time Management page of the Student Success Guide.
This video will show you how to write a great discussion post.
Watch the short video below for instructions on how to navigate the Discussion Posts page:
Step 1: Setting up the discussion post
Your discussion post is not a paper, although it will be formatted using paragraphs. You may want to write your post in a Word document first, so you can make changes. Here's how:
Copy and paste the assignment into a Word document.
Break the required elements of the assignment into bullet points. This will ensure that you meet all the requirements of the assignment. It'll also save you a lot of time.
Now that you know exactly what the assignment is asking of you, go ahead and start reading the material for the module. When you find the information you need, type that into the Word document under the corresponding bullet point. Remember to put it into your own words (i.e. paraphrase).
You can polish up your paper as you go along, or wait until the end when you have all your content written.
Step 2: Building the discussion post
Outline:You have the information you need to write your paper. Take the bullet points with the information underneath and paste it into the APA template format you've already downloaded and saved.
Look at the table below to assess what level of understanding your post may represent. Make changes if needed.
Copy the post from the Word document and paste it into the Discussion Forum. Submit it.
The instructor cannot really tell what you know and what you have learned.
You have done the bare minimum to get the assignment done.
Suggestions to Improve
Make sure you have addressed all aspects of the original discussion question.
Review the reading and any lecture notes. Incorporate those into your posts.
You have included specific details from the readings and lecture in your posts.
The basic assignment criteria have been met.
Suggestions to Improve
Try using concepts, terms, and examples from other classes to show that you can relate knowledge from different disciplines.
You have included details and specific examples and the information added supports or illustrates your points.
The instructor can tell that you have read the text, understand it, and can apply what you have learned.
You are maximizing the learning process.
Suggestions to Improve
Ask questions of your peers to support their understanding as well as your own.
Posting in the Discussion Forum
To post a message to a discussion forum, click the New Post link at the top of the page.
A new screen will appear, showing the Post a New Message dialog box; enter your Subject heading and Message text in the fields provided, and click the Post/Submit button at the bottom of the screen.
The discussion forum page will refresh to reveal your post to the forum; it will appear below the discussion topic and any previous posts.
To read a message, click on the link in the top frame of the Discussion Forum window. The message text will replace the Discussion Assignment text in the lower portion of the screen. To return to the original Discussion Assignment text, click the Directions link at the top of the page.
Step 4: Discussion reply posts
Your instructors want to see that you understand and can apply what you're learning. The more you demonstrate this, the more points you can earn.
Read through peers' initial posts and choose the ones you'd like to discuss further.
Post substantive replies to others that include information from the reading (e.g. "This week's reading talks about the Regis Principle and how it applies to...")and connect to other course concepts. See table below.
Revisit the discussion forum a few times during the week to read others' posts and reply.
Here are 3 different examples of Margo's reply to her classmate, Juan. Which one would earn Margo the most points? In other words, which best shows that Margo understands the concept of the Marshal Doctrine and can apply it?
Margo's reply to Juan's post
Levels of Margo's understanding
I agree with you, Juan.
This doesn't show Margo's understanding or application of the concepts.
I agree with you, Juan. The Regis Principle is present when the officer brings the defendant in for interrogation and asks about his frame of mind.
This shows more of Margo's understanding, but can be even better.
I agree with you, Juan. The Regis Principle is present when the officer brings the defendant in for interrogation and asks him about his frame of mind. The reading this week talks about how that element (frame of mind) could connect it into an evidence framework....
This shows that Margo understands the concept and can apply it.
To post a reply to a peer, click on the Post to which you'd like to respond. A new screen will appear for you to type your reply.
Scroll down to see Reply in the lower left corner and click on it.
Type your reply in the box.
You can start by typing the person's name to whom you are replying (e.g. Hi Juan, I see a connection...) and end with your name. This adds a dimension of collegiality to the discussion.