To find eBook databases in the Rasmussen University Library:

1. Navigate to the A-Z Database list.
2. Click on the Type filter.
3. Select eBooks from the drop down menu.
4. Click Search.

Browse the list to find the database that will work best for your need. Some databases contain subject-specific titles, while other collections are multidisciplinary.

Your best bets to get started are:

• eBook Central
• eBooks and Academic eBooks

Search Strategies

• Use one or two broad keywords as your search terms
  • Example: Hypertension, emotional intelligence, diabetes nutrition
• Use limiters to refine results
  • Publication Date
  • Subject
  • Language

Using eBooks

Once you've find a book that fits your topic, click on the title in the results list. It's not expected that you will read the entire book, so use these tips for finding the most relevant sections.

• Review the Table of Contents to see if there is a chapter that best fits your topic.
• Browse the book's Index to see what pages get at more specific aspects of your topic
• Use the Search feature to do a keyword search across the book's full text. This feature looks a little different depending on which database you are using.
  • In EBSCO, click on "Search Within" in the left hand side navigation pane.
  • In Proquest, click "Read Online" and then select the magnifying glass on the left hand side of the page.

For more help with using ebooks in the library databases, watch the video linked below. 

To find reference eBooks in the Rasmussen University Library:

1. Navigate to the A-Z Database List
2. Click on the Type filter
3. Select Reference from the drop down menu.
4. Click Search.

Browse the list to find the database that will work best for your need. Some reference databases are subject-specific, while others are multidisciplinary.

Your best bets for getting started:

• Credo Reference
• GALE eBooks

Search Strategies

• Use one or two main keywords as your search terms.
• If you don't find what you need in one, try taking out a keyword or using a broader keyword.
• Try more than one reference database. Each database has different encyclopedias and dictionaries. You may have better luck searching a different collection.

For more detailed information about using reference databases, watch the video linked below.

The eBooks Publication Finder allows you to search for eBooks regardless of publisher or vendor (such as Proquest or EBSCO).

Searching the Publication Finder by title is made easy by the responsive auto-complete feature which displays titles containing your search terms as you type. You can select a title from the auto-complete list or click the magnifying glass to do a full search.

It's important to note that this search is only looking for matches in the book's title. The search does not search across a book's full text.

eBook Finder Results

The results list will show you all the titles that match the keywords in your search.

You can see which database contains the full text access for each book. Click on the title of the database under "Full Text Access" to open the book.

The book's publication date is located under the name of the database.