For example, a scholarly research article will not provide a broad overview of diabetes and how nutrition can be used for disease management. That type of information would be available in a book, a healthcare-related encyclopedia, or perhaps the American Diabetes Association.
Looking for broad, general information? An overview of a topic? Definitions?
Books
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Professional organization or government websites
Looking for evidence-based practices? Research studies?
Scholarly journal articles
Looking for industry trends, new products, professional best practices, or organizational policy?
Trade journals
Looking for local or global perspectives?
Newspapers
Magazines
Looking for popular culture? Current events?
Learn more by reading about different types of sources below. Wondering how to search for these different types of sources? Visit our Choosing the Right Research Tool guide for instructions.
Periodicals are any publication that is published at regular intervals. Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, trade journals, academic journals, and newsletters.
Newspapers publish short articles on current events, feature stories, and editorials of interest to a particular geographic community. Major newspapers publish daily, while many smaller community newspapers may publish weekly or monthly. Articles are written by newspaper staff and editors. Many newspapers have both print and digital versions available to subscribers.
Research Tip: Newspapers are a source of current events and news on both the national and local level. In some cases, it is the only place where information on a event can be found.
Magazines provide information on current events, trends, and topics that appeal to the general public. Articles are shorter, written in simple, easy-to-understand language, and include glossy photos. Information is vetted and edited but sources are not cited.
Research tip: Because there are fewer barriers to publishing information in a magazine, they can be a source for late-breaking news or scientific discoveries. For example, scientists may choose to publish information in a magazine such as Nature because of the absence of a time-consuming peer-review process.
Trade journals are published for members of a particular profession or trade group. In these publications, find information on industry trends, new products, best practices, and organizational policy. Article authors are usually active in the industry, and many articles aim to provide practical information that can be applied immediately in the workplace.
Research Tip: Keep up with the latest information in your profession by regularly reading your industry's trade publications.
Academic journals publish articles by scholars and researchers to report original research findings to fellow academics, professionals, and experts in the field. Articles selected for publication are lengthy and detailed, have a narrow subject focus, and use technical and scholarly language. Source material is cited both in the text of the article and in the list of references. Some academic journals are peer-reviewed.
Articles submitted for publication by academics and researchers to peer-reviewed academic journals undergo a rigorous evaluation called the peer-review process. Editors determine whether submissions fit within the journal's scope, whether the researchers used accepted scientific research principles, and whether research findings add something new to the body of knowledge. If an article is selected, it is sent to a committee of experts--or peers--for review and comment. The committee may recommend edits and other changes to the article. It is then returned to the author to make revisions. The process is repeated until the article is approved for publication.
Research tip: Many academic journal articles include a literature review and a reference list listing all of the sources used in their research. Consider reviewing and using some of these sources to expand your research.
The Internet and the sophistication of search engine algorithms have made information more accessible and shareable. The appeal of finding information on the Internet is that it is available in various formats: text, images, video, and audio. Because there is no regulating body to universally evaluate the quality and reliability of the information shared on the Internet, the user must verify that the information is reliable, accurate, and of high quality before using it.
Research tip: Be sure to critically evaluate all information found on the web through a Google search. Visit our Evaluating Sources guide for help.
Books provide in-depth and detailed coverage of a topic. They are stand-alone publications and in most cases, content is divided into chapters. Books are available in both print and digital formats.
Research tip: Writing and publishing a book can take a year or more. Use journals, newspapers, and other periodicals to cover events and developments that may have occurred since a book's publication.
Dictionaries provide definitions, pronunciation, and usage of words and terms. In most cases, dictionaries arrange terms and definitions alphabetically. They may cover a single language, dual languages (Spanish-English dictionary), or focus on a specific topic, such as law or medicine.
Research Tip: Many online dictionaries provide audio pronunciations of terms.
Encyclopedias provide provide an overview of a topic or issue. Articles can be one or more paragraphs but usually do not exceed a page or two. Print encyclopedias can be composed of one or many volumes. Digital versions of encyclopedias can be found in library databases or online.
Research Tip: Encyclopedias provide an overview of a topic and may define key concepts and terms, so they are a great place to start any research project. In addition, reading an encyclopedia article on a topic can provide keywords to use in a library database or Internet search.
Grey literature is information produced outside of traditional publishing and distribution channels, Examples of grey literature include:
Quality can vary widely because they are published outside traditional publishing channels, See the Using Information tab in this guide for information about evaluating resources.
Research tip: Conference proceedings are a good source of information about new developments and practices in a field or profession.
