RasGuides: Business Research: Graduate Research

Graduate Research

Decorative. Laptop and notebook

Research is a critical component of graduate studies and your coursework. Review the tabs above to access information about finding and evaluating resources, research management, research methodology eBooks, and research support options from the Rasmussen University Library. Scroll down to watch video tutorials with a complete overview of the research process.

The research practices you used as an undergraduate student will provide a useful base or framework; however, graduate research expands upon these practices in several ways:

You will read, evaluate, and analyze literature -- often conducting literature reviews to gain a full and complete understanding of the seminal scholarly works or studies in your discipline, or the topic you are studying.
You will think critically about the resources you are finding and using for your research. It is not acceptable to use a smattering of random articles or other resources. The evaluation of each resource will be critical, as these previous studies and resources will help inform and guide your research.
You will no longer find resources and simply summarize them, rather find your credible sources, read them, make sure you understand them, and then analyze the sources in order to uncover gaps in the literature, and the work done before you.
These gaps may help you define your original research question or problem.
Your research question or problem will help to determine applicable qualitative and quantitative research approaches or methods you may wish to use.
You are now the scholar, standing on the shoulders of giants who came before you.
Your research and original work will contribute to the body of knowledge within your field or discipline.

Visit your University Library
100% digital library up and running for students to access 24/7.
Alphabetical List of Business Databases
Access a list of the Business databases with full descriptions, organized alphabetically.

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.

Ebooks

Analytics Boot Camp by Linda Herkenhoff; John Fogli
ISBN: 9781631574863
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
This book was written for managers and students who may need a quick refresher on how to complete Excel analysis without having to read pages of technical explanations. The authors aimed at concisely defining the key concepts and providing simple descriptions and explanations on how to use them.
Data Analysis in Business Research by D. Israel
ISBN: 9788178298757
Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Researchers face difficulty in analyzing data collected from small samples; they end up reporting mere percentage analysis which results in the loss of information collected. Hence there is a need to create awareness among students and researchers about the application of major nonparametric tools that can be applied confidently without worrying about sample size, scale of measurement, normality assumptions or other parameters of that nature.
Introduction to Quantitative Methods in Business by Bharat Kolluri; Michael J. Panik; Rao N. Singamsetti
ISBN: 9781119220978
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Featuring quantitative techniques essential for modeling modern business situations, Introduction to Quantitative Methods in Business: With Applications Using Microsoft Office Excel provides guidance to assessing real-world data sets using Excel. The book presents a balanced approach to the mathematical tools and techniques with applications used in the areas of business, finance, economics, marketing, and operations.
Qualitative Research in Business by H. Alf Walle
ISBN: 9781443866217
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Qualitative Methods in Business Research: A Practical Guidebook offers an analysis and "how to" guide regarding qualitative research methods that provides practical and effective advice for those seeking knowledge regarding the application of these tools. Opening discussions compare formal/scientific/quantitative methods of investigation with qualitative alternatives. Having provided this overview, a range of qualitative methods are discussed in an easy-to-understand manner that will be invaluable for those who wish to use these tools as part of their decision-making processes.
Quantitative Techniques in Business, Management and Finance by Umeshkumar Dubey; D. P. Kothari; G. K. Awari
ISBN: 9781498769471
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
This is an interdisciplinary book that covers all major topics involved at the interface between business and management on the one hand and mathematics and statistics on the other. Managers and others in industry and commerce who wish to obtain a working knowledge of quantitative techniques will also find this book useful.
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by John Adams; Hafiz T. A. Khan; Robert Raeside
ISBN: 9788132113669
Publication Date: 2014-03-15
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method.
Research Methods: the Basics by Nicholas Walliman
ISBN: 9781315528991
Publication Date: 2017-08-31
Research Methods: The Basics is an accessible, user-friendly introduction to the different aspects of research theory, methods and practice. This second edition provides an expanded resource suitable for students and practitioners in a wide range of disciplines.
Understanding Business Research by Bart L. Weathington; Christopher J. L. Cunningham; David J. Pittenger
ISBN: 9781118134269
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Understanding Business Research offers a comprehensive introduction to the entire process of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting findings in the business environment. With an emphasis on the human factor, the book presents a complete set of tools for tackling complex behavioral and social processes that are a part of data collection in industry settings.
Understanding Research Methods by Mildred L. Patten; Michelle Newhart
ISBN: 9780415790529
Publication Date: 2017-07-05

Research management includes three tasks:

Gather and select credible, high quality resources
Organize selected sources to avoid duplication and assist with synthesis, analysis, and writing
1. Track or record database searches – to avoid duplicating efforts, and to assist with locating additional information
2. Establish a note-taking system - create your own system, or options are available in NoodleTools and APA Academic Writer.
Citation management to avoid unintentional plagiarism, to give credit to the authors of your sources, and to lend credibility to your own work
1. Choose a citation management tool (NoodleTools or APA Academic Writer are supported by Rasmussen University Librarians) or develop your own approach using the APA Guide for citation information and examples

APA Guide
APA information including an APA paper template, examples, videos, and handouts covering APA formatting, references, in-text citations, and annotated bibliographies.
Academic Writer
View videos and tutorials, test your APA knowledge with quizzes, and view sample papers, references, tables, and figures. You can also find support to develop research ideas, plan and track your research, and manage your references.
NoodleTools Guide
Information on how to use this online citation management software that assists with the creation of in-text citations, reference pages, and annotated bibliographies.

Research Tutorials

Research Strategies and Variables

Learn about research strategies and variables, including the design choices a researcher must make when constructing an experiment, along with the implications of those choices for the types of variables examined; the causal and noncausal relationships between variables; data analysis; study design; study setting; and study validity, generalizability, and reproducibility. This is the third video in the Introduction to Research series.

Academic Writer

Business Research

Graduate Research

Discovery Search: Business

Ebooks

Research Tutorials