The 11 Second Club is a monthly character animation competition. Animators from all over the world participate, animating a character speaking a line of dialogue provided by the club. consider the best for that month. The idea is to give animators a chance to practice their skills in a fun, challenging environment.
Animator Island is an animation community built to share tips, tricks, and everything there is to know about doing great animation. Our goal is to inspire you, dear artist, to reach new heights of movement, acting, and storytelling to propel the great medium of animation to exciting and brilliant new places.
The site, under the editorial guidance of award-winning author and historian Amid Amidi, covers a wide range of topics, from cutting-edge computer animation and visual effects for both television and film, to classical techniques like hand-drawn and stop motion.
It also covers trends in commercial animation, interactive apps, blockbuster Hollywood features, crowdfunding, and independent filmmaking.
Free 3D models available for download from car to human 3D assets. Available in number of file formats including MAX, OBJ, FBX, 3DS, STL, C4D, BLEND, MA, MB. Find professional 3D models for any 3D design projects like virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), games, 3D architecture visualization or animation.
Quickposes is a tool for art students, illustrators or anyone who wants to focus on improving their drawing skills. By practicing gesture drawing you will not only get better at recognizing certain aspects of poses, but you will also build a visual library of characters and models.
There is a premium subscription account if you want to have access to all their offerings. Please note from the site: The Content you download is only licensed to you; you do not become the owner of the Content. Also, while we own copyright to all the Content and Photos on our website, in rare cases a photo may show a logo, brand name or copyrighted design. Be careful with these types of photo, because the owner of the logo, brand or design might not like it when it's used in your work.
You are not allowed to share or license downloaded Content to other people or companies, unless it is required for the production of your project.
About Us: We create tools & training for people who love motion design & visual effects!
Foundations of 3D Computer Graphics by Steven J. GortlerThis book explains the fundamental concepts of 3D computer graphics. It introduces the basic algorithmic technology needed to produce 3D computer graphics, and covers such topics as understanding and manipulating 3D geometric transformations, camera transformations, the image-rendering process, and materials and texture mapping. It also touches on advanced topics including color representations, light simulation, dealing with geometric representations, and producing animated computer graphics.
Free Font Utopia
Free fonts have met their match. We know how hard it is to find quality freeware that is licensed for commercial work. We've done the hard work, hand-selecting these typefaces and presenting them in an easy-to-use format. Here are some of our favorites:
Learn to Code HTML & CSS has one goal — to teach people how to build beautiful and intuitive websites by way of clear and organized lessons. The guide covers a variety of web design and development topics, ranging from beginner to advanced skill levels.
Lost Type is a Collaborative Digital Type Foundry.
Lost Type is the first of its kind, a Pay-What-You-Want type foundry.
Since 2011 Lost Type has been a source for unique typefaces, with a collection of over 50 different faces from contributors all over the world. 100% of the funds from sales of these fonts go directly to their respective designers. Lost Type fonts have been used across the world, and recently have been featured in projects for Nike, Starbucks, Disney, and the President of the United States. Lost Type continues to be dedicated to the idea that quality fonts should be made available to anyone who wants to create an individual piece of characterful design.
STUDIO AKA - WORK
We are an OSCAR-nominated, multi-BAFTA and multi-EMMY winning independent animation studio. We're known internationally for our idiosyncratic & innovative work, expressed across an eclectic range of projects.
Design School: Type by Richard PoulinDesign School: Type is an in-depth guide to the rules and practices of typography, you’ll learn the essential skills of the professional typographer in the detail.
In these pages, Robin defines the principles that govern type as well as the logic behind them so that you learn not just what looks best but why on your way to creating effective print and Web pages. Each short chapter in this thoroughly updated guide (which includes new coverage of typography in Adobe InDesign and Mac OS X) explores a different type secret or technique, including understanding legibility and readability; tailoring typeface to a particular project; mastering pull quotes and captions; working with spacing, punctuation marks, special characters, fonts, and justification; and more. The nonplatform- and nonsoftware-specific approach and Robin's lively, engaging style make this a must-have for any designer's bookshelf!
The Art of Type and Typography is an introduction to the art and rules of typography. Incorporating the industry standard—InDesign—for typesetting from the outset, this book serves as a guide for beginning students to learn to set type properly through tutorials, activities, and examples of student work.
Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works, Third Edition by Erik Spiekermann After two decades as one of the world's best-selling books on designing with type -- including editions in Korean, German, Russian, Portuguese, and Polish -- Stop Stealing Sheep & find out how type works continues to educate, entertain, and enlighten design students and type lovers around the globe. In this third edition, acclaimed type designer Erik Spiekermann brings his type classic fully up to date on mobile and web typography. He also includes scores of new visual examples on how to effectively communicate with type and a full selection of new typefaces that are used and referenced throughout the book. If you use type -- and these days, almost everyone does -- Spiekermann's engaging, common-sense style will help you understand how to look at type, work with type, choose the best typeface for your message, and express yourself more effectively through design. Compact, yet rich with anecdotes and visual examples, the handbook's multilayered design not only makes for a fun, fast read; it also invites exploration, ensuring you learn something new each and every time you open it up.
Melissa Clarkson (2015) offers a brief tutorial that introduces the foundational elements of visual communication. The emphasis is on techniques to graphically communicate (A) hierarchy, (B) grouping and (C) sequence— three concepts that are critical for designing effective figures, posters, and slides.